Scratch billiards

What is a scratch in billiards?

The Definition of A Scratch In Pool A scratch occurs even if one or more object balls are pocketed in the same shot that results in the cue ball being pocketed. If a pocket is filled with object balls and the cue ball touches one of these balls, it is considered a scratch .

What happens when you scratch in pool?

3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul ( scratch ) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.

Is hitting the 8 ball first a scratch?

I have found three ways to ” scratch “: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8 – ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first . 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball .

Do you have to move the ball on a scratch?

The cue ball is never moved by hand unless it is scratched . Scratching means hitting the cue ball into a pocket. When this happens, the other player gets to place the cue ball behind the head line on the table.

Is Table scratch a real rule?

A table scratch happens when you hit the cue ball or object balls in a way that isn’t legal, but don’t actually pocket the cue ball. This is sometimes called a “foul”. These are the rules for a legal shot: The cue can strike the cue ball only once.

Can you lose on a table scratch?

If you take a shot and the cue ball isn’t pocketed but fails to hit an object ball and a bunker, or drive an object ball into a bunker, that is a “ table scratch ”. The implications of a scratch can be loss of game, penalty of a stroke, turning play over to your opponent, or some combination of these.

You might be interested:  Billiard movers

What are the rules for billiards?

Rules of Billiards In-off: When your cue ball hits one of more balls and then goes down a pocket (2 / 3 points). Pot : This is when any ball other than your cue ball goes into a pocket (2 / 3 points). Cannon: This happens when the cue ball hits both other balls (2 points).

Is scratching on break a loss?

Scratch on break : It is a foul; incoming player has ball in hand behind the line. 8-ball on break : (House rule only) Player pocketing 8-ball on break , wins. If player pockets 8-ball and scratches, player does not lose, but the 8-ball is spotted and incoming player has ball behind the line.

Does scratching on the 8 ball mean you lose?

When shooting at the 8 – ball , a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8 – ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8 – ball .

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch , there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Is 9 ball a call shot game?

If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot , he remains at the table for another shot , and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9 – ball . Players are not required to call any shot .

What is a table scratch in 8 ball?

When the 8 – ball is the legal object ball , a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8 – ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table . Incoming player has cue ball in hand. If any object ball is jumped off the table , it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8 – ball , which is a loss of game.

You might be interested:  Billiard table brush

Can you double kiss on the 8 ball?

Our first double kiss will involve shooting the cue ball directly at the 8 ball . With an above-center hit and relatively slow speed, hit the 8 ball slightly to the right of straight on. When the shot is hit properly the 8 ball gets squeezed left to the top rail while the cue ball kind of slides off of it to the right.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *