What does the billiards term burst refer to?
Burst : when the total score is more than 41 points. 8) A. Scratch: a point is scored by an unplanned shot.
What is a shot in billiards called?
billiard shot : a shot (also called a “ billiard ”) where the CB is kissed or caromed off an OB (e.g., to pocket another OB). billiard stick: same as “cue stick;” or a cue used specifically in carom or three-cushion billiards .
What is it called when you sink the 8 ball?
A couple other things. If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Called Shots and Slop.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What do billiards players mean when they use the term crutch?
CRUTCH . (General) Slang term for the mechanical bridge. CUE. ( General) Tapered device, usually wooden, used to strike the cue ball to execute carom or pocket billiard shots. ( Also called cue stick)
What is difference between pool and billiards?
Some professional pool players still use the term billiards to describe what’s more commonly known as pool . Typically, billiards can refer to any kind of tabletop game played with a cue stick and cue ball, while pool largely means a game with pockets. There are no pockets used in the game.
What is the rules of billiards?
Billiards is a cue sport that is played by two players and utilises one object ball (red) and two cue balls (yellow and white). Each player uses a different color cue ball and attempts to score more points than their opponent and reach the previously agreed total required to win the match.
What is a split shot in pool?
This excludes ” split ” shots , where the cue ball strikes one of the shooter’s and one of the opponent’s object balls simultaneously. The cue ball is pocketed. The cue ball is shot before all balls have come to a complete stop from the previous shot .
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break , your opponent gets ball-in-hand. On the first shot after the break , the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball . the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball . combo’s you must hit one of your balls first . an opponents ball or the “ 8 ″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball .
What happens if you don’t call a pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call ( called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket . However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black . This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
” Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball .