Billiards scratch rules

What is a scratch in billiards?

The Definition of A Scratch In Pool A scratch occurs even if one or more object balls are pocketed in the same shot that results in the cue ball being pocketed. If a pocket is filled with object balls and the cue ball touches one of these balls, it is considered a scratch .

When you scratch in pool where do you put the ball?

Tournament rules are ” ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.

What are the rules for billiards?

Rules of Billiards In-off: When your cue ball hits one of more balls and then goes down a pocket (2 / 3 points). Pot : This is when any ball other than your cue ball goes into a pocket (2 / 3 points). Cannon: This happens when the cue ball hits both other balls (2 points).

What happens if you scratch in 8ball?

In 8 – ball , if you ‘re trying to pocket the 8 ball , it’s loss of game. If you pocket an object ball and scratch , you lose your turn but the object ball you pocketed stays in, so scratching becomes part of the game strategy since usually a pocketed object ball is worth loss of turn.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

A scratch , foul, or illegal shot results in ball -in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8- ball and 9- ball differences that follow).

You might be interested:  Billiards franchise

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch , there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What is a table scratch in 8 ball?

When the 8 – ball is the legal object ball , a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8 – ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table . Incoming player has cue ball in hand. If any object ball is jumped off the table , it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8 – ball , which is a loss of game.

Is scratching on break a loss?

Scratch on break : It is a foul; incoming player has ball in hand behind the line. 8-ball on break : (House rule only) Player pocketing 8-ball on break , wins. If player pockets 8-ball and scratches, player does not lose, but the 8-ball is spotted and incoming player has ball behind the line.

Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?

means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all . When you scratch , you automatically lose your turn. I have found three ways to ” scratch “: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8- ball first (unless it is the only legal shot).

Is billiards the same as pool?

Although the terms ‘ billiards ‘ and ‘ pool ‘ are often used interchangeably, the two do not mean the same thing. ‘ Billiards ‘ was originally a term to describe a game called ‘carom billiards ‘ exclusively, but has since evolved into a general term to describe a variety of games played on a table with balls and a cue stick.

You might be interested:  Sky billiards inc best choice products

What does billiards mean?

: any of several games played on an oblong table by driving small balls against one another or into pockets with a cue specifically : a game in which one scores by causing a cue ball to hit in succession two object balls — compare pool entry 3.

Can you shoot backwards in billiards?

When playing pool, there is no forward or backward . Forward is essentially whatever direction your cue is pointing when making the shot. This means that during normal play, there is no such thing as a backward shot. Often house rules require that when the cue ball is in hand, it must be shot from behind the string.

Is a table scratch on the 8 ball a loss?

When shooting at the 8 – ball , a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8 – ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table . Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8 – ball .

Is 9 ball a call shot game?

If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot , he remains at the table for another shot , and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9 – ball . Players are not required to call any shot .

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball . the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball . combo’s you must hit one of your balls first . an opponents ball or the “ 8 ″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *